New York Issues 2-Week Quarantine From Hotspots

New York Issues 2-Week Quarantine From Hotspots

Governor Cuomo announced today that there will now be  a 14-day quarantine for visitors from “hotspots” where the Coronavirus has spiked in recent days.  The governors of New Jersey and Connecticut have joined him in the restriction.  As of Wednesday, 6/24, visitors who come from Alabama, Arkansas, Arizona, Florida, North Carolina, South Carolina, Washington, Utah and Texis will be subject to a 14-day quarantine and fines if they don’t self-isolate. The infection rate is judged on the number of infections per 100,000 residents on a seven-day rolling average.

Earlier in the week he warned that restaurants are subject to loss of their liquor licenses if they do not require their customers to wear masks and follow social distancing.

Cuomo said “We worked very hard to get the viral transmission rate down. We don’t want to see it go up again because a lot of people come into this region and they can literally bring the infection with them.

The fines will be $2,000 for the first violation, $5,000 for the second and up to $10,000 if they cause harm. The visitors will be trusted to self-isolate.  New York State has been able to lower its infection rate to 1.1%.

Cuomo noted that coronavirus cases are rising across 27 states in the U.S. “Nationally, we should admit the reality. Denial is not a life strategy. It never is. Those 27 states are going up. More people are being infected and more lives will be lost,” he said.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s